RSS

Sad Heart

23 Feb

I received horrible news recently. Friday, at 3:08 pm to be exact. A friend called to tell me that one of my former speech students had committed suicide the day before.

It was surreal. I was running a little late that day, so I was walking into the high school just as all of the students were pouring out. It was such a strange moment. I was instantly in this weird space of being an island of sepration from this river of tremendous, alive, energy.

If you have never walked against the current of a bunch of teenagers leaving school on a Friday afternoon, I don’t know if I can even begin to adequately describe the energy level of that rush of kids. They are pumped. I heard snippets of conversations about the snow week dance that night, an Axemen game, hockey, parties, people. The energy of these kids was just rushing past me.

And I stood there, separate, with this image of the girl who had died. It seems like yesterday I walked in that school to see her at speech practice. I had this perfect image of her sitting on a desk on her script, swinging her legs, grinning, informing us that she was working on memorizing her poetry through butt osmosis.

Earlier this year, a student with ASD I was working with told me her neighbor had committed suicide because “his heart was so sad he couldn’t stay here anymore.” That is perhaps the most succinct and least patronizing explanation of suicide I have ever heard. So that is what I think.

Her heart was so sad she couldn’t stay here anymore.

But it still sucks.

I see so much brilliant light, energy, and beauty in these kids. I wish they could see it in themselves. Maybe sometimes they can. I hope so.

The end of this Erik Ott poem has been running through my head:

Most people in this world probably didn’t even realize their loss.
And I feel sorriest of all for those people — you —
those of you who never had the chance to meet her.
She was that cool.
The last sentence
in this poem
is how I will remember
her:
This world is a better place for having her in it
even if it was only for twenty years.
 

 

For more about Erik Ott, check out his online bookcase.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 23, 2014 in reflections

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment

 
dr. p.l. (paul) thomas

educator, public scholar, poet&writer - academic freedom isn't free

Rebel Voices:

Cries from the Northwoods

I Know What We're Gonna Do Today!

"I have a million ideas, but, they all point to certain death." -- Marvin. The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Adventure Is Out There

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Surviving Free time

Finding and trying things out

The Gist

Enthusiastically sarcastic and rip-roaringly blunt, she has something to say.

Learn-Write-Create

A "classy" blog...

Shanna says...

Normalcy, Gone Weird

Coffee, Conversations, and Cooking

Words From a typical college student using her experiences in an attempt to create a not so typical blog

ecofriendlyfreak

My "Weblogs and Wikis" class blog

Curious Wanderer

Experience, explore, learn, live.

Yummy For You and Me

All Things Delectable

Just passing through

Reviewing games for a blogging project

delanasmith80

Delana's Blog

Belly Fill

Review of Bemidji Restaurants