RSS

Reflection 4

17 Feb

Well, I shifted gears this week. Instead of trying to wrap my head around something new, I gave some thought and insight about a topic I already knew something about. It felt like a little bit of a cop-out, actually, but my brain needed a rest. And I really do like wikis.

I did dig a little deeper into what other people do with wikis in classrooms and courses.  I also looked for some research-type studies on their effectiveness (also some pedagogical stuff).  I need to keep digging there, I think. I know I have not fully realized the capabilities of the wiki in my class.  I planned my wiki to fit into what I was already doing, but didn’t spend a lot of time looking at what else it could do. I could be doing so much more cool stuff with it. This is a work in process (as is all teaching, really).

I was inspired by this video this week:

It’s all about how you set things up.

Anyway, this was a week of reflective thinking about my teaching style and what I am doing in my classroom and how it all ties together, as hopefully it does.

As with the last couple of weeks, I feel like I have just touched the surface of this topic.  I am wondering if there might be a written comprehensive in this somewhere, which would allow me to dig into the literature on  higher ed and wikis a bit more.  Sigh.  There are never enough hours in the day.

My posts this week:

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 17, 2014 in reflections

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment

 
dr. p.l. (paul) thomas

educator, public scholar, poet&writer - academic freedom isn't free

Rebel Voices:

Cries from the Northwoods

I Know What We're Gonna Do Today!

"I have a million ideas, but, they all point to certain death." -- Marvin. The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Adventure Is Out There

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Surviving Free time

Finding and trying things out

The Gist

Enthusiastically sarcastic and rip-roaringly blunt, she has something to say.

Learn-Write-Create

A "classy" blog...

Shanna says...

Normalcy, Gone Weird

Coffee, Conversations, and Cooking

Words From a typical college student using her experiences in an attempt to create a not so typical blog

ecofriendlyfreak

My "Weblogs and Wikis" class blog

Curious Wanderer

Experience, explore, learn, live.

Yummy For You and Me

All Things Delectable

Just passing through

Reviewing games for a blogging project

delanasmith80

Delana's Blog

Belly Fill

Review of Bemidji Restaurants