RSS

Reflection 3

10 Feb

Well, this week I sorted through Barbasi’s Power Law and then backtracked to look at some network theory. It seems I keep circling around to materiality and cognition. There is probably a reason for that, but I am not sure what it is yet. I do enjoy swimming around in theory, and I like to ponder why we think how we think.  Issues related to meta-cognition definitely impact how I approach teaching.

The biggest issue I had this week was that my tendency in general is to happily dive very deeply into a very narrow topic, but to be reluctant to move on from it. So, since moving on is what we do in class, I have dragged my feet reluctantly away from the Gutenberg Parenthesis and started working on Barbasi, and now do not want to move away from either one of those. It slows me down. I am now thinking of ways to justify including Pettitt in my thesis. It’s a problem.

Anyway, on a fun note this week, I realized this morning while working on MLA citations with my A & E class that the Purdue OWL has now listed a way to cite Twitter (it appears to be in response to the MLA website doing the same). Fantastic. Take that, you Luddites.

Posts this week:

Addendum:

I also started this, a second Power Law post last week, but found after I started it that I just wasn’t as interested in Power Law as it specifically related to bloggers as I was to network theory in general and the internet as a whole.  Since it was done as much as it was going to be, I decided just to publish it as is and link to Amber’s Blog, as she discussed the same two posts.  Thanks, Amber.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 10, 2014 in culture, media, reflections, thesis stuff

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment

 
dr. p.l. (paul) thomas

educator, public scholar, poet&writer - academic freedom isn't free

Rebel Voices:

Cries from the Northwoods

I Know What We're Gonna Do Today!

"I have a million ideas, but, they all point to certain death." -- Marvin. The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Adventure Is Out There

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Surviving Free time

Finding and trying things out

The Gist

Enthusiastically sarcastic and rip-roaringly blunt, she has something to say.

Learn-Write-Create

A "classy" blog...

Shanna says...

Normalcy, Gone Weird

Coffee, Conversations, and Cooking

Words From a typical college student using her experiences in an attempt to create a not so typical blog

ecofriendlyfreak

My "Weblogs and Wikis" class blog

Curious Wanderer

Experience, explore, learn, live.

Yummy For You and Me

All Things Delectable

Just passing through

Reviewing games for a blogging project

delanasmith80

Delana's Blog

Belly Fill

Review of Bemidji Restaurants